Home

Current Information

Cornelia Downtown Development Authority


The primary goal of the CDDA is to revitalize and redevelop the Cornelia business district and promote for public good and general welfare, trade, commerce, industry and employment opportunities by creating a climate favorable to commerce. The CDDA will work diligently to promote, maintain and enhance an economically viable downtown by focusing public and private resources on the fulfillment of downtown Cornelia’s potential to the benefit of the entire community.

These goals of the CDDA will be achieved by focusing on the following:
1.    Facilitate and nurture partnerships with the Department of Community Affairs and other state agencies, the City of Cornelia government, the Cornelia business community and residents.

2.    To acquire, construct, improve, alter, repair and maintain properties within the Downtown Cornelia area as set forth in the enabling resolution based on Georgia law.

3.    To undertake and oversee the revitalization and redevelopment of the business district within the Downtown Cornelia area and to use those powers as prescribed by law as requested by the City of Cornelia, Georgia.

The City of Cornelia is also part of the Georgia Main Street Program. The CDDA and the Cornelia Better Hometown work in partnership on a strategic work plan that encompasses the Main Street Four Point Approach™ to downtown revitalization:
 
1.    Community Outreach/Organization: Building consensus and cooperation among many groups and individuals who have a role in the revitalization process.

2.    Promotion: Marketing the traditional commercial district’s assets to customers, potential investors, new businesses, local citizens and visitors.

3.    Economic Restructuring: Strengthening the district’s existing economic base while finding ways to expand it to meet new opportunities.

4.    Design: Enhancing the aesthetics of the district by rehabilitating historic buildings, encouraging supportive construction and infill, and long term planning.

The Cornelia Downtown Development Authority is governed by a Board of Directors which is a seven member VOLUNTEER board appointed by the board of commissioners for the City of Cornelia.

CDDA Board Meetings are held every month on the first Thursday. The board meetings are open to the public and are held at the historic Cornelia Train Depot located at 102 Clarkesville St, Cornelia, GA 30531.


2012 Cornelia Downtown Development Authority 
Board of Directors:

Brian Horton, Chairman (Commercial Loan Officer-Community Bank & Trust) brian.horton@cbtonline.com 

Natalie Crawford, Vice Chair (Cornelia Hospitality & Tourism Board Representative) ncrawford@piedmont.edu

Amanda Chosewood, Treasurer (Regions Bank Branch Manager) amanda.chosewood@regions.com

Barbara Strain, Secretary, bastrain@windstream.net

Michael Harvey (WCON) mharvey@wconfm.com

Don Higgins (owner of Higgins Realty & Construction) daubreyhiggins@gmail.com

Annabelle Wiley (Cornelia Library) awiley@negeorgialibraries.org

Heather Sinyard, Downtown Manager for City of Cornelia, bht@corneliageorgia.org

706-778-8585 x 280

Jon Hershell, Community Development Manager for City of Cornelia, dmanager@corneliageorgia.org, 706-778-8585 x 224

Donald Anderson, City Manager for City of Cornelia, danderson@corneliageorgia.org,

706-778-8585 x 247

 

Ex-Officio (Non-Voting) Committee Members:

Hope Murray, Certus Bank

Jan Garrison, United Community Bank

JR Charles, Habersham County Development Authority Director